Social media celebrates as four of Pakistan cricket team’s players won top awards at the ICC awards

Mahnoor Jalal

Mahnoor Jalal

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp

2021 has been a year of reckoning for the Pakistani cricket team- as our team made us exceptionally proud when under Babar Azam’s leadership we went on to the semi-finals while defeating countries like India, England and New Zealand.

Now yesterday social media users celebrated as the ICC announced awards for the four cricket players from the Pakistani team. Babar Azam was awarded with ICC ODI Cricketer of the year, Muhammad Rizwan was given the ICC T20I Player, Shaheen Afridi was given the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy and Fatima Sana was crowned as ICC’s Emerging Women Cricketer of the year.

Twitter users were excited by this news and especially at Babar Azam’s wins since he has been the first Pakistani to win such a prestigious award after 70 years. Fans began referring to this moment as the “Babar era” when congratulating the cricketer for his spectacular performance this year

Twitter users were also especially proud of Fatima Sana for taking the Pakistani womens cricket team to international platforms and also winning such prestigious awards as well.

Congratulations to all of these champs for their spectacular performance and making sure the rest of the world is aware of how much talent exists in Pakistan! We pray that all of these players take our country to even greater heights in the future!